Post 5 – Valentine’s Day

Thursday it was Valentine’s Day and I woke up one of those cynical people (though I am happily engaged) who thinks the day is overrated and cliché and Hallmark-ified and everyone expects chocolate and roses, blah blah blah. I was tired and cranky because my cat woke me up at 4 in the morning to cuddle and when I finally get up and go into the kitchen to get the day started, my wonderful fiance surprises me with a box of dark chocolate!

Now I know what I would be thinking if I were you. Everyone gets chocolate. Big stinkin’ deal. Weren’t you just saying how cliché that is? Yes, everyone gets chocolate or roses or candy or whatever, but when a genuine guy who genuinely loves you (ok when this genuine guy who genuinely loves me) surprises you with a box of chocolates when you’re feeling cynical, somehow that changes all of that and you feel pretty damn lucky. MAJOR points to him for turning my mood around.

So naturally when he does something nice for me, I want to do something nice for him. I mean relationships are about give and take, though of course not everything has to be evenly reciprocated. Instead of making a sickeningly sweet chocolate dessert, since baking is my specialty, instead I made something sweet, but not overly sweet, beautiful and fun for me to make – apple pie roses. They look fancy and you might think they’d be too much work to make but really they’re not any harder than apple pie. You make (or buy) a small batch of pie crust, slice some apples thinly and simmer them until they’re soft and then you just make cinnamon rolls out of them and bake! Ta-da! Impressive, romantic, and delicious. When I was making them I showed them to him and asked him, “So what do they look like?” Poor guy, being honest, clueless, and thinking in the Valentine’s Day spirit says “Hearts?” Oh well, he was impressed nonetheless.

Image

I guess my biggest problem with Valentine’s Day, like others, is that it is an assigned day of love. Can’t I just be more spontaneous with my affection?

Reminder to my future self: If someone who loves you wants to treat you well on a nationally recognized day of love, don’t scorn them because of your own contempt. Let love in and reciprocate the best way you know how. Baking is one way.

Apple Pie Roses

Adapted from excellent-eats.com

2 small pink lady apples or other firm RED apple, washed and UNpeeled

½ of a pie crust (see recipe below, which makes ½ of a pie crust)

Crust: (Double this if using for a single crust pie)

5/8 cups all purpose flour

1 tsp. sugar

1/8 tsp. salt

2 T. COLD unsalted butter, cut into small pieces

2 T. COLD vegetable shortening, cut into small pieces

2-4 T. ice COLD water

Start by making the pie crust – mixing the flour, sugar, and salt thoroughly in a bowl or food processor and add the butter and shortening, stirring to coat the pieces in flour. Cut fat in with a pastry blender, in a food processor by pulsing, or with two knives (the old fashioned way) until the mixture is crumbly and somewhat uniform. Start by slowly drizzling 2 T. of the cold water while mixing gently with a fork. Add more water as needed so it comes together in a ball. You don’t want it to be too sticky so add the water slowly. Shape into a rough square, wrap in plastic wrap and refrigerate for 2 hours at least.

When dough is cold, slice apples very thinly, leaving peels on, and place in a saucepan. Cover with cold water to cover all of them (about 3-4 cups) and add a few tablespoons of sugar if desired and cinnamon (I only added cinnamon). Bring to a low boil and simmer for 10-15 or until apples are pliable. Drain, rinse with cold water, drain again, and set aside.

Remove pie crust from the refrigerator and roll out on floured surface into a long thin rectangle so that the dough is about 1/8 inch thick. Cut into strips (length wise) about the width of the apple slices. I got about 5 strips out of mine.

Carefully lay out the apple slices with the round skin side of the apple slice sticking out ever so slightly over the edge of the dough, slightly overlapping the pieces. Carefully start from one side and roll up the dough like a cinnamon roll, careful to keep the apple pieces in. Seal the dough at the end of the roll underneath the rose or on the side. Set on a cookie sheet lined with parchment or silicon. Repeat with remaining dough and apples. This Pinterest recipe has better visuals than I can describe.

Bake at 425 for 20 minutes and then reduce temperature to 350 to keep apple peels from darkening. Bake until center of rose is no longer doughy. Let cool and enjoy!

One thought on “Post 5 – Valentine’s Day

  1. Erin, I love it that you’re writing where I can read it. I love you and I love your writer’s voice. Looking forward to more good reading about eating. Then I can eat while I read.

Leave a Reply

