Post 17 – Tuesday is the new Friday… sorta

Happy Tuesday!

Yes, that’s what I said. Pass it on!

I was walking home this afternoon, my mind glazing over from a tired Tuesday when I was awoken from my daze by the kindness of a stranger. Just a block from my apartment, a young man surprised me with a sincere, “How’s it going? Happy Tuesday!” His quiet greeting was followed by a nervous laugh as if he was slightly embarrassed by his own gesture. The greeting so threw me off guard that all I could do was smile in response, left in awe at the simple joy left by his kindness.

You know what? I think the world needs a little more joy on Tuesdays. I know that people love Fridays, but let’s say we give Tuesday a little love. I’ve always looked out for the underdogs (like the time I did my state report on Iowa because no one else had chosen to study the state before. Remember that, Mom? All the other 4th graders were fighting over Hawaii and Florida because they had sunshine and rainbows going for them, but I chose Iowa and all I got was corn.) Let’s hear it for Tuesdays!

I’ve been busy with life the past few weeks (getting ready to move, summer job hunting, life contemplations), but that’s not to say I haven’t been cooking nearly every day! Because variety is the spice of life, I’ve been trying to incorporate new recipes when possible and document them when I can.

Here are just a few food snapshots for your viewing pleasure.

IMG_2276

I take advantage of nights when Sam is gone to cook foods he doesn’t like. Here is a simple (but delicious) sautéed shrimp with scallions, white wine, and pasta. Oh and a jar of peas. That’s how I eat my peas these days…

Best thing to do with extra zucchini (other than make zucchini bread) – zucchini chips! Mmm – sweet and savory!

 IMG_2278

IMG_2285

The photo below is from a kitchensurfing gig I did. Smoked Salmon on Toasted Baguette and Cucumbers, Caprese bites, and Spinach Hummus.

 IMG_2315

IMG_2318

Dinner was Lemon and Herb Salmon, Mediterranean Couscous with Roasted Tomatoes and Kalamata Olives (and some plain couscous for the kids), Mixed Greens with Feta, Cranberries, Roasted Pumpkins Seeds and Balsamic Vinaigrette, and Roasted Green Beans.

IMG_2314Dessert!  Strawberry Rhubarb pie! Pictured above pre-crumble and pre-bake.

Pictured below after baking. One for me, and one for them. (Gotta test out the recipe first – sheesh!)

IMG_2323

 

Happy Tuesday! Pass it on!

5 thoughts on “Post 17 – Tuesday is the new Friday… sorta

  1. Hi Erin–did you ever eat Grandma Mabie’s strawberry-rhubarb pie? She was the best pie baker ever! You Mom comes in right after Grandma, so you come from some of the best pie makers in the world!

  2. I don’t know if I did have Grandma Mabie’s pie, but I do for sure remember my mom making them when I was growing up. Certainly delicious!

  3. Actually, I meant your Grandma W–she is the World’s Second Best Pie Baker, then your mom! I like your story about Iowa–what a girl!

Leave a Reply

