Post 43 – Peach Cobbler

Ok, now that it’s September let’s be honest. Summer is pretty much over.

Fall is great and all – beautiful colorful leaves, cozy temperatures, and a stash of pumpkin recipes you’ve been waiting until this time of year to try, but I have to admit I will miss the summer produce. I am going to miss all of the delicious, fresh, juicy, and sweet nectarines and peaches that summer provides. They have been a staple in my breakfast granola and afternoon munching.

IMG_3379

So this past week when I stopped at the farmers’ market, I was thrilled to find an abundance of cheap, local peaches. I bought a few pounds (now I wish I’d bought more!) with the intention of making a peach dessert of some sort.

IMG_3383

When one of my friends invited me to hang out with her and some of her friends, I figured it was the perfect opportunity. Wanting to avoid rolling out a piecrust and crimping it just perfectly I opted for Mark Bittman’s fruit cobbler recipe. He makes his with blueberries, though he says you can use any fruit. I used 8 cups of peaches and did a one and a half recipe of the cobbler topping for a 9×13 pan. (I also sprinkled cinnamon on the peaches.) I recommend if you make it with a juicy fruit like peaches to toss the peaches with a little flour as mine turned out a little too soupy and made a sticky mess when I tilted it while carrying it on the T.

IMG_3386

IMG_3388

As with most of Bittman’s recipes, this one is simple and for me – fun. I get to use my favorite tool – the pastry blender!

IMG_3390

IMG_3391

IMG_3393

IMG_3395

It’s perfect served warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.

IMG_3399

I hope you get a chance to enjoy the last few weeks of ripe summer fruits and vegetables. I’m hoping to take advantage of the warm weather and longer days as long as possible.

What’s your favorite peach recipe? Please share it with me in a comment below!

 

2 thoughts on “Post 43 – Peach Cobbler

Leave a Reply

