Post 50 – More Applesauce & Homemade Breakfast Sausage

It sure feels like fall around here. Cooler temperatures, beautiful fallen leaves, and applesauce.

IMG_3601

Oh, and speaking of applesauce…

I have some bad news. The applesauce is all gone.

In one short week (5 days technically!) Sam demolished that giant bowl of homemade applesauce that I assured you would not make it to the freezer. I think I had a small bowl or two.

The good news: that wonderful guy is in the kitchen (as I type) making another batch, completely without me asking him to!

Here’s proof:

photo(54)

(Listening to the Beatles radio on Pandora as he cooks)

With this final batch of applesauce no more apples remain from our wonderful apple-picking trip. (I think maybe it’s time to go again?) I had thought that, with 40 pounds of apples, surely I would have a million and one recipes to try in order to use up the delicious fruit gems, but, alas, many of the recipes never made it to the test kitchen.

I did, however, try one recipe that has become a part of my breakfast a few days a week: turkey and apple breakfast sausage. After searching a few recipes online I put the best of them together to make my very own. They turned out moist, flavorful, and very filling. They use very little apple, but the apple adds nice flavor. Though I shredded my apple unpeeled, next time I think I would peel the apple as the skin seems to burn easier when cooking the sausage.

photo(59)

Turkey and Apple Breakfast Sausages

Makes 6-10 patties depending on the size

1 lb. ground turkey

1/4 cup shredded apple, any kind

1-2 T. chopped fresh sage

a few good grinds of black pepper

1/2-3/4 tsp. of salt

1/2-1 tsp. crushed fennel seeds

1 egg white

i su

Combine all of the ingredients in a bowl with your hands and gently form into patties. I used a lightly scooped 1/4 cup measuring cup to make mine. You can refrigerate to allow the flavors to come together or you can cook them now (I did the latter). The seasonings are flexible and totally up to you, so feel free to adjust as needed.

photo(56)

photo(57)

Heat a large non-stick skillet over medium heat and lightly drizzle with oil. When the pan is hot, add a few patties, being careful not to crowd the pan. Allow to cook for about 5 minutes on one side or until you can see the bottom is browning and beginning to move up the sides slightly.

photo(58)

Gently flip and allow to cook until a thermometer registers 165 or until no longer pink in the middle. Remove to a cookie sheet or plate to cool and cook the next batch. These can be served immediately or frozen. If frozen, lay them out without touching on a plate or cookie sheet. Put in the freezer for an hour or two until well chilled then move to a Ziploc freezer bag. This will keep the sausages from sticking together. To reheat individually, microwave on a microwave-safe plate for 1 minute (covering with a paper towel to prevent splatters) or reheat in the oven at a low temperature.

photo(59)

I admit that I miss the warmth of the summer sun, but just the same I’m so glad it’s fall. Bring on the red and orange hues that color the paths, the apples, pumpkins, and squash that warm our palates and tummies, and the-curl-up-under-a-blanket-with-a-good-book fall weather. Believe me, in a few months these temperatures we’re experiencing now will seem tropical. Enjoy it while it lasts.

 

 

One thought on “Post 50 – More Applesauce & Homemade Breakfast Sausage

  1. Pingback: Seattle Apple Pie | Erin Eating Everything

Leave a Reply

