Post 65 – 2014 – The Year of Spatulas

IMG_3986

2013 was a very good year.

First, there were the weddings. Though I got engaged at the end of 2012, we began the real planning in 2013, deciding when and where we would get married and what was important to us. We also attended Sam’s brother’s wedding in Italy and had a chance to celebrate their love with them.

Then there was Kitchensurfing, and with that the chance to express myself through food and have confidence in my skills as a chef, a menu planner, and event organizer. Though I started out gradually, I have learned from my experiences and I have more events ahead of me.

In 2013 I started this blog, which began as something to pull me out of the thick doldrums of winter’s hold and has morphed into a form of expression and another chance to step out of my comfort zone and share my writing with whoever will listen (or read).

In 2013 we moved to a new apartment. We faced the challenge of packing up and picking up large furniture in 90-something degree weather and being welcomed (very warmly) into an un-air-conditioned apartment with our two freaked out cats (it’s okay, they and we have both adjusted now and all of us love it here).

There was the Boston Marathon bombing. There were more school shootings. There were typhoons, hurricanes, and tragedies to say the least, and these things made us grateful for all we have and all that we can give.

 

2014 will be an excellent year.

We are getting married!

and I have been gifted an abundance of spatulas.

IMG_3985

Red ones, blue ones, old ones, new ones – these spatulas will make my motto for the year. Scrape every last bit, enjoy life to the fullest, drink every last drop.

Here’s to a year of health, happiness, adventures and triumphs even better than the last!

Happy New Year!

 

 

One thought on “Post 65 – 2014 – The Year of Spatulas

  1. Pingback: Post 82 – Birthdays | Erin Eating Everything

Leave a Reply

