Post 72 – Catching up

March! Thank goodness. This is the month where I start to believe spring is coming soon (until I remember that last year on my birthday – the end of May – it was forty degrees and rainy!) Eh, I guess spring and warm weather may be a long way off, but here’s hoping. Why do I look forward to the spring? Sunshine, warmth, no ice to slip on, fresh fruit and vegetables in abundance! I will miss the snow days, but there’s always spring and summer break to look forward to.

I’ve been on a bit of a hiatus from my blog, but that doesn’t mean I haven’t been cooking (of course). I haven’t been bloggin because I haven’t been cooking anything crazy interesting lately, due to my continuing issues with GERD. I’ve resorted to fairly simple (boring) recipes as the list of foods that I can’t eat seems to grow longer and longer and so I haven’t taken many pictures of them. I am back to eating wheat and gluten (for now), but still experimenting with other foods that might upset my system. It’s frustrating for someone whose job and life revolve around food, but I’m figuring it out.

Here are a few photos of what I’ve made since my last post (all carbs and sugar since those seem to be the most photogenic recipes I make):

photo 1(20)Homemade chocolate peanut butter cups for my valentine

photo 2(17)

The simplest, freshest, crustiest, homemade, hot-from-the-oven oat flour bread (from this book!)

photo 4(10)

Classic Chocolate Chip cookies (my future mother-in-law’s recipe, with a twist)

photo 5(4)

I hope to have more interesting recipes to share with you soon, but until the next time I hope these pictures will get you by. I only wish I had equally tantalizing pictures of beautiful fruits and vegetables! If that’s what you’re looking for check this out.

 

Cheers and here’s hoping spring comes soon!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Post 72 – Catching up

  1. Which bread recipe is that? We pretty much stick to the light whole wheat, but end up with a lot smaller loaf (the recipe says it make 4)…

  2. I made the oat flour recipe (because I had some oat flour to use up) but I made a half batch and only made one loaf (a full batch should make 3 loaves). The light whole wheat is always nice though.

Leave a Reply

