Post 81 – Recipe experimenting!

I like experimenting with recipes – especially when they turn out well the first time! Here are some loosely written “recipes,” more like guidelines, for making three delicious dishes (say that 5 times fast!)

Baked Fish in Parchment Paper

Inspired by the cod we enjoyed over the weekend while visiting my aunt at her new home in Connecticut, I decided to try my luck at poisson en papillote or fish baked in parchment paper. It keeps the fish moist and requires very little work and time.

You simply put the fish on a square of parchment paper large enough to fold into a package, season as desired…

photo 5(6)

fold it up and bake it…

photo 4(14)(make sure you put it on a sheet pan or in a baking dish). I recommend baking at 375 for 10-15 minutes (depending on the thickness) or until the fish feels slightly firm when you press it.

And voila! Moist fish!

photo 3(22)

If you can tolerate lemon, onions, and garlic these would be lovely additions.

 

Summer Squash Gratinee

Since I had bought some summer squash, I also made a tasty squash “gratinee” based on this recipe. Usually gratinee is a dish baked with cheese that gets nice and browned and crispy and tasty, but since I can’t eat cheese right now I found an excellent substitute thanks to some recipe browsing: almond flour.

Start by salting your squash. Slice the squash into even slices (about 1/4 inch thick) and place in a colander. Toss with a fair amount of salt (about 1 tablespoon of Kosher salt for 3 medium squash) and let drain for at least 15 minutes. The salt will draw out the excess water in the squash so as not to water down your dish. Shake excess water out and pat dry with a paper towel. Oil or spray your baking dish. I used a pie plate for mine. Place the squash in a pretty pattern, seasoning each layer with fresh ground black pepper, oregano, and a drizzle of olive oil.

photo 1(29)

photo 2(25) Sprinkle with a few tablespoons of almond meal (3-4) and lightly drizzle with olive oil OR spray with an oil spray. Bake at 400 for 35-45 minutes until desired doneness is reached and it is slightly browned.

Let cool slightly and enjoy! The topping looks like cheese and even tastes slightly cheesy from the nuttiness of the almonds. I would definitely make this dish again.

 

Almond Butter Bites

My final experiment was a recipe based on a comfort snack food my mom made growing up: peanut butter balls. She would mix an indiscriminate amount of peanut butter, oats, honey, powdered milk, raisins or chocolates until it became a dough like consistency with the right amount of sweetness and the right texture. Then she would form the dough into balls and we would eat them for a snack. Delicious!

photo 2(26)

Since the ED eliminates peanut butter, oats, chocolate, milk, and raisins (I can have honey in small amounts) I had to come up with my own version using almond butter, cooked buckwheat, coconut, flax, and honey (mixed in unknown amounts to achieve the flavor and texture desired). I rolled them in unsweetened coconut so they looked pretty. I’ll be taking these tasty buggers to my all day frisbee tournament tomorrow for a nice little treat! Here’s hoping it doesn’t rain.

photo 3(23)

Happy weekend and hope you do some kitchen experiments!

 

Leave a Reply

