Post 87 – Blueberry Frangipane Tart

As a kid living in Ohio, our family vacations often took us to Michigan where much of my extended family lives and where we enjoyed summers on the lake and days spent blueberry picking. I remember each of us would have a giant bucket that we tried to fill as full as possible with the biggest berries. My mom loved to load up while they were in season so we could take them home and put them in the freezer for the dead of winter when we wanted a good pie or batch of blueberry muffins. A few years ago I got in my head that Sam and I should go blueberry picking around Boston. We took our time making plans and by the time we got around to it, we pretty much missed blueberry season. We got to the fields and picked less than a pint of blueberries and raspberries and returned home disappointed with our timing. I since haven’t tried blueberry picking in the Northeast, but I’ll always remember those summer days picking blueberries in Michigan.

photo 1(34)

This weekend we ventured to see our friends an hour south of Boston and we were in charge of bringing dessert. With blueberries bursting with deliciousness in every market this time of year, I decided to feature them in my dessert and of course I thought I’d make a pie. But not just any pie of course – psha! I have been dying to try this New York Times gluten free pie crust recipe so I figured this was the opportunity. Just in case it was lacking in flavor, I thought I’d fill my crust with frangipane – a buttery almond filling that transforms this instantly from pie into a tart (how elegant!) I followed this recipe from the Kitchn using the NYT pie crust as my base.

photo 2(31)And what a delicious tart it was. The crust was crunchy, the filling creamy but with a texture from the almond meal that added a nice mouthfeel and the blueberries melted into the whole thing. Scrumptious! Next time I might use a finer ground cornmeal and actual oat flour (instead of just finely ground oats) to make the crust not as gritty.

So there you have it: Blueberry Frangipane Tart (and gluten free too!)

photo 3(28)

And for those of you wondering… the wedding and honeymoon were wonderful! I can’t believe it’s August already. Time flies. I am back and back to cooking. (And I realized while on vacation that as much as I like to cook, I like taking a break from it every now and then. When I am well fed and other people do the cooking I am quite content.) Nonetheless I am back and ready to get back at cooking.

Our adventures in Attleboro also rewarded me with a pile of delicious farm-fresh veggies! We wandered the giant garden that my friend’s dad tends to with some other folks, marveling at the beautiful colors and shapes that mother nature gives us. The vegetables were made all the more beautiful by the fresh raindrops that landed on their leaves. Something about the purple cabbage blooming out into several feet made me think of some kind of fairy tale.

IMG_4730

IMG_4732IMG_4734Like a cabbage rose…

After picking as much as we liked, we returned to their place for fish tacos and games.

IMG_4738

And then enjoyed our tasty tart.

IMG_4740

Looking forward to turning these beautiful veggies into something yummy!

photo 4(18)

 

3 thoughts on “Post 87 – Blueberry Frangipane Tart

  1. OH that tart looks so lusciously good! I’ve been eating blueberries like a crazy lady all month 🙂 And thanks for stopping by eve’s apple! ~Marisa (mcproco.wordpress.com)

Leave a Reply

