Post 103 – Thai Red Curry or Things my mother taught me

IMG_1237

It is my mom who taught me to love color. Thanks to her, bright splashes of blues, greens, purples, and oranges or swirls and stripes of different hues often catch my attention. Mom is a quilter and the quilts she has made over the years range from beautiful seasonal-inspired designs to teddy bears and rainbows (no really – my sister’s quilt was a rainbow log cabin design and mine was based on fabric with teddy bears on it).

Besides that Mom has been a teacher for over twenty years. The colorful pins, earrings, and necklaces that she wore to school when I was growing up, seemingly to entertain her young students, were really because she enjoyed the colorful accessories herself. Mom also wore her fair share of, ahem, we’ll call them creative teacher sweaters, many of which probably inspired the ugly Christmas sweater parties people have today (sorry Mom). Mom taught by example and the colors she wore and the fabric she spun into quilts taught me all I needed to know about color.

IMG_1232

My mom also taught me to never follow a recipe twice. Actually she might have taught me to never follow a recipe. I resisted for years, but now unfortunately I think I’ve picked up on this particular habit. Oh that says 2 tablespoons of sugar. I think it really means eyeball 2 tablespoons or maybe don’t worry about measuring at all and it’ll come out just fine!

This explains why sometimes the recipes I give here can be a little bit vague. I can’t promise the accuracy of this one. You can thank my mother.

IMG_1233IMG_1234

Now when making recipes I am free to experiment (in most cases) and think outside the pages of the recipe. I start my dish based on a few recipes that I’ve researched ahead of time, but often I throw all caution to the wind and add whatever the heck I want.

This particular dish was inspired by a meal I enjoyed this weekend at a Thai restaurant. It was also inspired by all this snow! The warm and bright colors will brighten up all that white stuff outside and the smooth creamy coconut milk and curry will take the chill off your cheeks when you come in from the cold. This isn’t the American comfort food of yore, but it will certainly make you quite cozy in this winter weather.

IMG_1236

Mom also taught me to be grateful (and with all this snow I am reminded of how very grateful I am!). Especially when you are feeling down or bored, remembering all the wonderful things that you have can give you some perspective. (However, I don’t recommend using social media to soothe your sad soul or you will likely find yourself comparing your life to the glamorous snapshots of all your friends and acquaintances. I speak from experience, my friends.) On this snowy day in Boston (wait are those more flakes I see coming down right now?!) I am grateful for so many things, my wonderful mother included.

Thai Red Curry with Basil and Tofu

As with many recipes you can certainly substitute and play around with the ingredients. Change the vegetables, switch the tofu out for chicken, swap soy sauce for the fish sauce. Or better yet don’t even follow the recipe!

1 14-oz can coconut milk (I used full fat, but you can try light)

2-3 T. Thai red curry paste (Thai Kitchen brand)

2 inch piece of fresh ginger, peeled and minced

2 T. fish sauce (or soy sauce)

1-2 T. brown sugar

1 acorn squash

1 red pepper

1 zucchini

1 14-oz package of firm tofu

Fresh basil (Thai basil if possible)

splash of lime juice

Start by prepping your vegetables. Peel and remove the seeds from the squash and dice into 1-inch cubes, cut the zucchini into half moons, and dice the pepper as small or big as you like, keeping the pieces even so they cook at the same rate. In a large saucepan or cast iron skillet dump your first six ingredients – coconut milk through the squash. Over medium heat bring to a gentle simmer, lower the heat and cover the pan. Depending on how well done you like your vegetables you can add the zucchini and pepper and at this point too. Or you can let the squash get a head start and add the other vegetables after about 10 minutes of cooking. Drain your tofu and gently squeeze to remove excess liquid. Dice and add to pan with the other vegetables. Simmer, covered on low for another 10-15 minutes or until the tofu is warmed through and the vegetables reach your preferred doneness level. Garnish with a splash of lime juice and fresh basil. Serve over rice.

If you are making this with chicken, you can add the chicken pieces in raw – just make sure to let it cook long enough to cook the chicken all the way. With shrimp add 3-4 minutes toward the end as you don’t want the shrimp to get too tough.

Enjoy and stay warm!

IMG_1238

2 thoughts on “Post 103 – Thai Red Curry or Things my mother taught me

  1. Hi Erin–Love the healthy, and no doubt delish, curry (I have a half-empty red Thai Kitchen Thai curry jar in my fridge as we speak!), but enjoyed the lovely tribute to your mom even more 🙂 ~Marisa (mcproco.wordpress.com)

Leave a Reply

