Post 115 – Soy-glazed Salmon & Spring Salad with Lemon Mustard Dressing

IMG_1414I’m running out of savory cookbooks to work with for my Cookbook Challenge. Most of the books I have left are dessert-based – yikes! I guess those might have to be spread out over a few months to keep us from indulging too much 🙂

I’ve checked off some more cookbooks with some delicious recipes, though none of them is quite deserving of its own post. I made a delicious salmon recipe from a community cookbook assembled by the school I attended growing up. Despite the cooked-on sugar in the marinade proving very difficult to remove from the pan, the salmon was wonderful – succulent, sweet, and savory. My picture doesn’t do it justice.

IMG_0788Here’s the quick recipe for Soy-glazed Salmon: Prepare a marinade of 2 T. honey, 2 T. low sodium soy sauce, 1.5 T. lime juice, 2 tsp. Dijon mustard, 1 T. water, and 2 tsp. vegetable oil and marinate the salmon for one hour in the fridge. Grill it on aluminum foil (to save yourself the burnt-sugar mess) for 15-20 minutes or bake at 425 degrees for the same amount of time, flipping after about 10 minutes. You want the fish to be tender, which means when you press it lightly with your finger it should start to flake. If it bounces back, it’s probably not done. If you are unsure, cut into it to see if the salmon looks slightly opaque.

I also made a grapefruit chicken, which was rather blah, unfortunately. It comes from a book simply titled Chicken. Generic cookbook titles don’t usually interest me, though to be fair, I may not have picked the most interesting recipe. I think this was originally my husband’s cookbook actually.

For this recipe, you cut segments of grapefruit, put them in slits cut in chicken breasts, and brush it with honey. The chicken didn’t end up having a ton of flavor and the grapefruit didn’t add anything.

IMG_1415IMG_1417IMG_1419

Finally most recently I made a fresh “Parigi Spring Salad” from the delightful Dayton Junior League cookbook Causing a Stir – also where I got my Cincinnati Chili recipe. The salad brightened up our usual go-to side salad with some blanched asparagus, roasted red pepper, goat cheese, pine nuts, and fresh basil (which I forgot to add!). It probably would’ve been delicious with the lemon mustard dressing I made from Nigella Express (see below), though we topped it simply with balsamic vinegar and olive oil.

IMG_1442IMG_1410More recipes coming your way!

Simple Lemon Mustard Dressing

from Nigella Express

2 T. Dijon mustard

1 T. honey

2.5 T. lemon juice

1/2 cup canola oil

1/2 tsp. Kosher salt

Put all the ingredients in a jar, cover tightly, and shake vigorously (good way to take out some aggression on an inanimate object). Alternatively whisk all ingredients together (except the oil). Slowly add oil while whisking to emulsify (which is just a fancy way to say blended together). Serve with your favorite salad.

2 thoughts on “Post 115 – Soy-glazed Salmon & Spring Salad with Lemon Mustard Dressing

Leave a Reply

