Summer Potato Salad with Horseradish Dijon Mayo

About five years ago my mom and I drove the 800+ miles from Dayton, Ohio to Boston, MA, her black Honda Fit packed with as much of my stuff as it could hold. It was my first taste of living on my own in a city, and I was both terrified and thrilled. Though the first moments after my mom drove away definitely felt lonely and sad, I eventually settled into my new home and began getting to know Boston by bike and by train.

IMG_1042It is hard to believe that five years have passed since that move. I have lived through many momentous occasions in Boston – the Bruins winning the Stanley Cup, the Red Sox winning the World Series, the Boston Marathon bombing, the Patriots winning the Super Bowl, and the record-breaking snowfall this past winter. I have loved living in Boston and there are many things I will miss about this city, but I am also excited to get to know a new city on the other side of the country.

IMG_0993There is not much time left here in Boston, but in the remaining weeks I am doing my best to use up ingredients in the kitchen before the move (so far so good) and see a few iconic Boston sites one last time. Potato salad makes for great summer picnic fare as it can be prepared ahead of time and only requires the stove, saving you turning on your oven. This recipe is inspired by one of my favorite condiments made at the school where I work. In fact you can make the sauce for this potato salad, use it on your turkey sandwiches, and it will be delicious! Though as a kid I thought horseradish was disgusting, now I love the flavor horseradish gives this mayo. Either I have grown up or it is not noticeable enough for the horseradish-haters. I hope you decide to give this recipe a try.

IMG_1706

IMG_1709IMG_1711

Summer Potato Salad with Horseradish Dijon Mayo

3 lb. yukon gold potatoes

1 tsp. salt

1 cup mayonnaise

1/4 cup dijon mustard, whole grain or smooth

1/4 cup prepared horseradish

1 tsp. granulated garlic

1 tsp. ground black pepper

Optional additional add-ins: chopped celery, chopped hard-boiled eggs, chopped parsley

Cut potatoes into 1-inch cubes (or even sized pieces) and put into a large saucepan. Fill with cold water enough to cover the potatoes by a few inches. Cover with a lid, add salt, and bring to a boil. When it boils, remove the lid and reduce the heat to medium. Cook for 10-15 minutes (depending on the size of the potatoes) until the potatoes are cooked through, but still hold their shape. You don’t want to cook them as long as you would mashed potatoes because you don’t want them to turn to mush.

When the potatoes are done cooking, drain them well and empty into a large bowl to cool. Let cool 20 minutes at room temperature and then move to the refrigerator for another 20-30 minutes before adding the sauce. Meanwhile mix up the mayo, mustard, horseradish, garlic, and black pepper. When the potatoes have cooled enough, fold in as much of the sauce as you want (depending on how creamy you want your potato salad) and any add-ins. Return to fridge to cool and meld the flavors. Serve with your favorite burger or take along to a picnic.

IMG_1723Happy last few weeks of summer!!!

Leave a Reply

